My First RBC Canadian Open Experience

This blog post was originally published to the RBC Meetings & Events Connect page on August 27th, 2014. It details my experience working at the Canadian Open, and I thought it would be interesting to share on my own blog as well.

If you’ve read my first post on my internship experience with the Meetings & Events team, you’ll know that I’ve had a busy but incredible summer. 18 total events later, I have gained so much valuable experience and insight into the world of corporate events and meetings.

One particular event that I wanted to talk about was the RBC Canadian Open (RBCCO). Taking place at the Royal Montreal Golf Club for the tenth time in the championship’s history, I was fortunate enough to be able to work on-site at the event in L’Île-Bizard for a week in July.

The event was attended by 95,000+ guests and 1,600 volunteers, with media coverage reaching 270 million households internationally. It was my first glimpse into a world-class PGA TOUR event, and gave me great insight into how RBC creates a “Best in Class” experience for its clients and guests.

Every single aspect of the Canadian Open was aimed at creating that unique experience for its guests. I personally worked in Hospitality for the majority of the week, specifically in the Executive Valet and at the RBC Skybox at the 18th green. I witnessed how guests were taken care of from the very first point of contact when they arrived at the RBCCO, to when they departed after an exciting and unforgettable day.

Photo 7-27-2014, 8 54 35 AM

Similarly, I got to help with our on-site activation in the Fan Experience Tent. Guests got to be in a Golf Canada magazine cover shoot (and take home a physical copy of the magazine with their cover!), meet special guests such as PK Subban and our RBC Olympians, and enter to win a signed Team RBC golf bag on our interactive touch-screen displays. It made me so happy to greet and assist fans, help them learn more about RBC’s golf program and business offerings, and put a smile on their faces.

New this year was our #RBCGolf4Kids campaign for charity, in which Team RBC golfers engaged the public in a fun social media challenge benefitting children’s charities around the world. In addition, we introduced a VIP package for RBC employees called “Family Day” as our way of saying “thank you”. I actually got to assist with the massively successful event, helping to provide that exclusive, VIP experience.

rbcg4k

The #RBCGolf4Kids selfie mirror!

My limits were definitely put to the test to that week, as we had very long hours and early mornings, with little sleep. Despite being thoroughly exhausted by the end of the week, I wouldn’t have traded the experience for anything, nor could I have replicated the experience anywhere else. It was absolutely incredible to be a part of something so big and high-profile, and to know that my work matters and makes an impact.

Thank you RBC and to my amazing team for making my summer as wonderful as it has been. I have learned so much and had remarkable opportunities that I would have never experienced otherwise. To all the RBCers and partners that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and working with- thank you, and I hope our paths will cross again in the near future!

One thought on “My First RBC Canadian Open Experience

Leave a Reply

