Volkswagen Knocks It Out Of The Park With “Don’t Text And Drive” Ad

The first thing I do every morning while eating breakfast is scroll through my Twitter feed and catch up on all the marketing industry and world news that I’ve missed. And whenever there’s an ad that captures my attention, it makes me excited and I make a mental note to share it. This is one of them.

There’s an ad by Volkswagen and Ogilvy Beijing that’s been going around, in which the automobile manufacturer heeds the public to keep their eyes on the road and not use their mobile devices. Seems like an ordinary PSA, but VW takes a totally different spin on it at a movie theatre. Take a look at the footage:

This ad plays heavily on shock factor- but in a way that is highly reminiscent of a real life situation. You can see the people looking bored as the car just drives along, and the sudden impact captivates the audience in a way that will not be soon forgotten. Of course, this begs the question of how exactly the technology component of the ad worked in enabling the audience’s mobile devices- how exactly did they get the information needed? But questions aside, involving and engaging your audience without them even realizing it, while getting the shock factor just right- I’d go so far as to call it genius.

This is how you create an impactful message that will stick in a consumer’s mind. I hope more companies and agencies take this tactful approach to getting a message across, especially when it comes to public awareness and social issues.

4 thoughts on “Volkswagen Knocks It Out Of The Park With “Don’t Text And Drive” Ad

  1. Grace says:

    When everyone’s phones starting ringing, one of my first thoughts was – how come so many people’s phones are on in a movie theatre in the first place? One of the first things I do when I’m at a movie is to turn off my phone. Aren’t I so responsible? 🙂 But I agree with you – the ad gets the message across in a really creative, captivating way.

Leave a Reply

