Don’t Forget Simplicity

Image

Tonight I was walking across the UBC Campus after a meeting, heading to the bus loop so I could get home. A seemingly normal occurrence- it’s something that I do every day. The evening air was cold and crisp, and I strolled along, reflecting on the events of the day.

When I reached the field that stood in between me and the bus loop, I looked up at the sky for no particular reason. Another normal occurrence. But tonight, it stopped me in my tracks. It was spectacular. It was beautiful. The nearly full moon was visible, shrouded by a few dark wisps of clouds. The moon illuminated the sky surrounding it, and it was a cloudy night, creating a beautiful ripple effect. I felt a pure, unadulterated sense of gratefulness, of peace and calm, of quiet joy rush through me.

I did not scramble to grab my phone to capture the beautiful scenery. I did not Instagram anything. Instead, I took in the moment fully as it was. Be in the moment was one of my unspoken New Years Resolutions.

It really is the smallest things in life that bring me immense amounts of joy. That complete and utter sense of happiness derived from nothing but an ordinary night sky reminds me of who I am, who I want to be, and that everything is going to be okay. I hadn’t felt so alive and human in a long time.

Inhale. Exhale.

Amidst the whirlwind and madness that is life, taking a moment to slow down, look around, and appreciate what you have can do wonders for your state of mind. Sometimes life passes by too quickly, and you realize that the little things were, in fact, the big things.

Stay thankful and stay grateful.

Leave a Reply

