Winter Survival Guide: Beauty Edition

So it’s been getting extremely cold in Vancouver the past couple of days (and the rest of Canada shakes their head at us). But seriously, today is a whopping -5 degrees Celcius, with a high of -2. Us university students are buried in final exams, papers, and it’s a stressful time for everybody. I haven’t been able to write much cause the last few weeks have been absolutely crazy, and I got very sick over the past week. And to top it off, my home’s heater broke and I’ve been freezing for the past week or so.

But amidst the craziness, the temperature changes have made my skin and hair very dry (when it is normally oily), and I’ve had to take extra time out of my day to take care of it and make sure it stays moisturized. I thought I’d share some of my tips and my favourite products to help combat the chilly weather.

Image

1. MOISTURIZE YOUR FACE. While this may seem like a no-brainer, you’d be surprised at how many people are lazy when it comes to moisturizing, myself included. I have oily skin, so I can normally get away with just washing my face with Cetaphil and going to bed. But in the wintertime, even my oily skin gets dry, and so I make sure to moisturize my face before I head out the door and before heading to sleep.

Moisturizer doesn’t have to be expensive (I messed up my skin last winter trying out high-end products), but it does have to work for your skin. I’ve been using the Neutrogena Oil-Free Sensitive Skin Moisturizer for around 4 years now, and it works beautifully for both morning and night. It’s light and water-based, but still hydrating, and I’d imagine it work for a large range of skin types. And it only retails for $10-$15, and one bottle lasts a very long time.

2. STAY HYDRATED. This is important year-round, but especially during the holidays. All that cold weather, central heating, and alcohol at holiday parties will really dehydrate your body and dry out your skin. Drink plenty of water (and no, cocktails don’t count) to keep your body and your skin happy and healthy.

Image

3. Okay, even I’m surprised that I’ve included body lotion into this. I’m not going to lie, I am very picky about moisturizers, and I don’t like 99% of the lotions I own. I find body lotions in general to be very sticky and uncomfortable (and don’t even get me started about body butters). But I was gifted this Sugar Lemon Body Lotion by fresh by a friend on my birthday, so when I noticed that my legs were getting dry from the weather, I finally gave it a try- and I LOVE it. It’s so light but hydrating, sinks into my skin like a dream, and smells exactly like it sounds. My legs are visibly less dry after only a couple of uses. It has a hefty price tag for a lotion (around $30), but for me it’d be worth it, because I don’t remember the last time I actually liked a body lotion.

I discussed my favourite hand cream in an earlier post, which you can bet is equally amazing as I am just as picky about those. I’ve been reapplying every couple hours, whereas every other time of the year you’d be lucky if I applied it once a week.

Image

4. Exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate! A few years ago, I wondered why I was suddenly breaking out come Fall/Winter, and read in a magazine that it is especially important to exfoliate in the winter, as those dry, dead skin cells build up on your face and leave it looking dull, and can lead to breakouts. And it turns out they were right- within a week, my skin had mostly cleared up. I have been using this one lately in the shower: The Body Shop Aloe Gentle Exfoliator. It is REALLY GENTLE- actually a bit more gentle than I’d prefer, but it does the job and doesn’t irritate my skin. This would work for even those with hyper sensitive skin- the beads are microscopic and will not irritate you in the least.

To compare the products side by side:

Image

From top to bottom: Neutrogena moisturizer, Fresh body lotion, Body Shop exfoliator

They all look extremely similar, all light, non-irritating, sensitive-skin friendly, and do their job well. (Excuse my hand.. it’s rather tired looking)

Image

5. Can’t forget about the lips, cause I don’t know about you, but I constantly have to reapply this time of year. These two have been my favourites lately, and the Burts Bees Lip Balm has been my favourite for years. Since the beginning of high school. My whole family loves them. The Vaseline Lip Therapy is very potent and great for bedtime. I apply it with a Q-Tip (because I hate dipping my fingers into jars) before bed, and wake up with soft, smooth lips.

Image

6. As for hair, this has been my love for the past few months. I have long hair and very, VERY dry ends, and this really helps to hydrate my hair and smooth it out. The Aussie 3-Minute Miracle Deep Treatment was also a gift from a friend, and it is seriously amazing. I’m not even joking- it is a miracle for it’s price ($2.99!). However, at the moment you can only get this in the states, so if you can get yourself down there, I highly recommend you try this out. I stocked up at Target, but you can probably find this in similar department stores.

Because I like to recommend products that are mostly affordable and can be easily accessed (I am a student after all), another hair mask that I love is the L’Oreal Total Repair Replenishing Mask.

Image

If you can’t get your hands on the Aussie one, this one is also really hydrating, inexpensive (around $5), and lasts for a long time. This is also a staple in my shower. Just an FYI: I use hair masks/deep conditioners as my everyday conditioner.

Image

7. And because you know how much I love using face masks to de-stress, this Moisturizing Cream Mask by Caudalie is very soothing and hydrating. The reason why I don’t have my own photo of this is because I received a deluxe sample of this and used it all up. It’s a splurge at $42, but this is one of the few moisturizing masks I do like. I typically prefer clay masks for oily skin.

And that is it for my tips on surviving the winter season. Stay warm, stay hydrated, and take care of your skin! Good luck to those in the midst of exams, and have an amazing and well-deserved break!

Image

Happy Holidays from me to you! Thanks for catching up with me!

Leave a Reply

