What Are You Thankful For?

Image

As Thanksgiving weekend races by much too quickly, and my midterms loom near on the other side, I still choose to carve out some time to sit and reflect on what the meaning of Thanksgiving is, and what I am thankful for.

Thanksgiving originated from old English traditions dating back to the Protestant Reformation, and was traditionally celebrated as a day of giving thanks for the blessing of the harvest, and of the past year. Here in Canada, we celebrate Thanksgiving in mid-October, whereas the United States observes the holiday on the fourth Thursday of November (and then follows it up with Black Friday- why delay Christmas shopping and rampant consumerism any longer, eh?)

Although now in urban cities we do not hold an actual “harvest festival”, giving thanks for the past year is definitely still applicable to us. In a way, we reap what we sow, and we should be grateful for what we’ve been blessed with. Life moves very quickly, and if you don’t stop and take a look around once in a while, you may take the little things for granted and only notice in the wake of its absence.

This year, I am thankful for:

  • My family and friends, first and foremost. Thank you for supporting me, thank you for being my rock when life gets really tough. This year has been just that. Thank you for putting up with me, for knowing me so well, for blessing me with your presence, laughter, and warm hearts. Thank you for looking out for my best interests, listening to me, giving me advice and help when I need it, and being a part of my life.
  • Community. Of all sorts and sizes.
  • A roof over my head, and all my basic needs met.
  • An education and various jobs in which I am able to continuously learn and grow, and challenge myself to be the best that I can be. The fact that I am complaining about midterms means that I have the opportunity to pursue higher education, and that’s not something that should be taken for granted.
  • Music. For being able to listen, and play it myself. At this rate, I will likely suffer hearing loss at an old age, but I start and end my day with my headphones in.
  • Random acts of kindness. Even the smallest things can touch your heart and make a big impact.
  • John Green.
  • All the personal development I’ve gone through this past year. Those who have both helped me, and hurt me, thank you for helping me grow in character.

Happy Thanksgiving, folks! May you spend it in the company of those you love. Or study simultaneously, if you’re also in my shoes. Wear loose-fitting pants, indulge in that turkey, and take a moment to give thanks for the blessings in your life.

One thought on “What Are You Thankful For?

  1. baufinanzierung rechner says:

    Hey Han, well done for keeping at it.Just a thought about your knees and running: is there a bike you can borrow from someone? If you did a bike ride instead of a run once a week it'd give your knees a longer recovery period and help them get stronger, as well as making for a more interesting regime. All the bestJamblo x Was this answer helpful?

Leave a Reply

